by Hipster Hamster Hipster Hamster
March 10, 2010

Evoking the folk-and country-tinged rock and roll of 1960s and ‘70s acts like Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, or modern contemporaries like Fleet Foxes, Yukon Blonde’s self-titled debut album doesn’t do much that we haven’t heard before, but it sure does so well.  It’s all there—the classic Breakfast in America Wurlitzer piano tone, jangly acoustic guitar overlaid with crisp, clean electric leads—and it’s all worked into songs that anyone who grew up on classic rock will find comfortable and familiar.  With rich, sunny harmonies, big choruses and southern-fried guitar solos, the Vancouverites wear their influences proudly on their sleeves, honing classic tropes and idioms to near perfection.

That’s not to say that there’s no originality here.  While Yukon Blonde play within the framework established by Bob Dylan and Neil Young, they interpret it in their own way, incorporating modern flourishes, subtle hints of synthesizer and dissonance.

In more ways than one, it’s comfort food. As delicious as exotic cuisine can be, sometimes we prefer an old favorite.  Turkey dinner.  Rich, sumptuous turkey dinner, with gravy, stuffing, mashed potatoes (sweet and regular) and green beans.  If everything goes right, it tastes pretty much the same every time, though occasionally someone might put a new spin on a classic.  It tastes pretty great, goes down easy, warms you up inside, and in the end, leaves you feeling a little bit bloated.

That’s Yukon Blonde in a nutshell.  Their brand of rock wouldn’t feel out of place in the used section of a 1970s record store, though it would certainly rank among the best.  It brings back memories of lazy Sunday afternoons, lying on the living room floor in a pool of sunlight, my dad’s records on the stereo. And sometimes that’s all I’m looking for.

out of 5 weasels.

  1. Rather Be With You
  2. Blood Cops
  3. Kumiko Song (FREE MP3)
  4. Wind Blows
  5. Trivial Fires
  6. Brides Song
  7. Babies Don’t Like Blue Anymore
  8. 1000 Years
  9. Ghosts On Film

Yukon Blonde was released February 9, 2010 in Canada on Nevado Records. It is available March 23, 2010 in the USA.

Visit Yukon Blonde online:

“1000 Years” (live)

Recording/touring clip

Never trust a hamster. Support the artist and find out for yourself. encourages purchasing Yukon Blonde locally at Red Cat Records in Vancouver, B.C, any independent record store of your choice or online here.


One Response to “Turncoat Turntable 015: Yukon Blonde – s/t”

  1. [...] at a premium. I reviewed Yukon Blonde’s latest for, you can check it out there for added content etc. I’ve included it here for your [...]

Write a Comment